New
Find
Notify
Tools

Moon clip revolvers
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Can anyone give me a list of moon clip revolvers available in 357? Does the GP100 have this ability?

I have no knowledge of this type of revolvers so I need educated.

Thanks,

Greg

Posts: 187 | Location: Alberta Canada | Registered: 07 February 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by albertacoyote:
Can anyone give me a list of moon clip revolvers available in 357? Does the GP100 have this ability?

I have no knowledge of this type of revolvers so I need educated.

Thanks,

Greg

Funny you should ask that right now. I just ran across this thread on another forum:

http://www.rugerforum.net/showthread.php?t=9786
or if the link does not work
rugerforum.net/showthread.php?t=9786
There is lots of good information there., but in short. I do not have a list, but Googling the words "Moon Clips" will get you a lot of leads. The GP100 (and most other revolvers) have to be machined out to accept moon clips. Some gunsmiths will machine the entire rear face of the cylinder which makes moon clips necessary all the time. Other gunsmiths will machine part of the cylinder's rear face, which makes moon clips or loose ammunition optional.

One site mentioned in the thread is
http://www.moonclips.com/

Good luck.

Lost Sheep

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I own (and Shoot) a S&W 629. I ordered a spare cylender cut for use with full moon clips from someone on this forum - Tom?? (use search) and am Very happy with the result.

Tom would have prefered to alter my original cylender but living in Africa that wasn't an option- now I can (and do) swop between the original for bush carry and the cut cylender with clips for IPSC revolver class.

Posts: 3026 | Location: Zimbabwe | Registered: 23 July 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Ganyana: