New
Find
Notify
Tools

Low Profile Slide Stop
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am looking for a slide stop to put on my Kimber 1911 TC II HD. The OEM stop has an larger pad that I bump with my support thumb, causing the slide to lock when it shouldn't. I need a slide stop with a narrower profile.

I see a number of choices at Brownells and MidwayUSA and wondered what others have done.

sputster

Posts: 759 | Location: Kansas | Registered: 18 December 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Hmmm, my right thumb (I am right handed) rests on that! The conventional wisdom (and I am not an expert) says that the gun is drawn with the right hand and the left (support hand) "fits" under it, ensuring as much contact between grip surface and the two hands as possible. 70% of the gripping comes from the "support hand" with the right hand basically ensuring a good trigger pull. In modern times, the "canting" of the left wrist in a downward direction is also emphasized. I am sure that there are photographs available of the "correct" grip and I do not claim to be an expert. I actually have an extended slide release on my IPSC guns. Try this link:
http://bulletin.accurateshoote...s-from-todd-jarrett/

Sounds like you may not have a fully "thumbs forward" position.

I am sure someone will correct me.
Peter

Be without fear in the face of your enemies. Be brave and upright, that God may love thee. Speak the truth always, even if it leads to your death. Safeguard the helpless and do no wrong;

Posts: 10505 | Location: Jacksonville, Florida | Registered: 09 January 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post