THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM DOUBLE RIFLES FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Double Rifles    75% rule and cast bullets in 450/400 ??
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

75% rule and cast bullets in 450/400 ??
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Worked up a great shooting load with nice but expensive jacketed bullets that copies 400 gr.factory loads in my 450/400 (.410), thanks for the input guys!

Now, I am trying to cut down on expenses, and am considering .411 hard cast GC lead 300gr. bullets as practice loads. Are these safe to shoot in Sxs's from anyones experience (I have read both sides on this one), and if so, how does one start working up a load? Does your starting point vary because they are lead vs. jacketed, or do you just apply the 75% rule here?

Forgive my ignorance, but I have no experience with cast bullets, and what I have read on them I am not sure applies to big bore double rifles.
thanks

Rick

DRSS

Posts: 704 | Location: Gulf coast SW Fla. USA | Registered: 21 December 2006Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
My personal experience has been very good.
Merkel 140 dbl rifle.
LBT 250 grain LFN Wheel Weight alloy + 1% Tin
LBT lube, sized .367 in star sizer .375 gas check. Pushed out by 2 grains less of my IMR 4064 250 grain Accubond and 250 grain Swift A-frame load with a velocity of 2400 fps. NO Leading what so ever.
Regulate close enough for practice
Carl

One of Us
Picture of Rusty
posted Hide Post
Try this. Use some Hornady .300 grain 405 Winchester .411 bullets. They make a flat nose and spire point. Economical. They'll shoot just fine in that .410 caliber double!

You can find them at Grafs, and Midway to name a couple of places!

Rusty
We Band of Brothers!
DRSS, NRA & SCI Life Member

"I am rejoiced at my fate. Do not be uneasy about me, for I am with my friends."
----- David Crockett in his last letter (to his children), January 9th, 1836