Find
Notify
Tools

8-bore double rifles
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Wildcatter
posted
I am starting this thread to track the progress of my 8-Bore double rifle project and ask for other people’s experiences with 8-bore rifles and shotguns. I will post a bunch of pictures soon.

I got very interested in the early wild cat big bores as a kid, then my interest shifted to the British double rifle rounds. I studied my dad’s PO Ackley books until the spines cracked and fell away and Jack Lott’s big-bores special issue of Guns&Ammo magazine until the covers fell off! About the time I was 15, I found out about 8 and 4-bore rifles and my imagination was ignited! I just couldn’t believe human beings shot rifles that big!

Fast forward to 2017. I got the idea of putting my home machine shop to use building an 8-bore single shot rifle. I found a man in Oregon who made 8 and 4-bore barrels. He made me one barrel that suited cases from Rocky Mountain Cartridges. I was slowly making progress when, in 2019, I found an auction on Gunbroker for a London-proofed, double Jones Underlever, 8-bore shotgun with back-action locks. That gun was listed at a low asking price but, by some miracle, did not sell! I called the shop that had it in Minnesota and made an offer. They spoke with the owner that had it consigned and they took the offer!!! The owner mentioned that the gun had been used by their grandfather as a market hunting gun on the Great Lakes before 1900. When I received it, I noticed the gun had not been abused and locked up like a bank vault. My gun is a London proofed 8-bore Jones proofed between 1875 and 1883. It has no makers marking anywhere on the gun. Perfect for the project. I called my barrel maker to order a second barrel for an 8-bore rifled barrel set to be made. The barrel maker had suffered a stroke and could not make a second cut-rifled barrel for my project!