Find
Notify
Tools

Walker's Game Ears
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of shakari
posted
I've been hunting Africa for 30 years now and before that hunting/shooting in the UK for some years before that and as a consequence my hearing has suffered dramatically.

An audio test a couple of years ago told me I'd lost over 60% of hearing in one ear and over 40% in the other.

I'd looked at a variety of hearing aids/protection several times over the years but couldn't really find anything that fulfilled all my needs at a sensible price. I wanted hearing aids that also gave me hearing protection when I was hunting.

I recently looked at the American game ears here:

http://www.walkersgameear.com/...cement_hdSeries.html

and then contacted my local suppliers here in Africa to see if I could get a similar product here. The local Siemen's rep offered me their own version with the same technical spec for US$3000. That isn't a typo. The price quoted was three thousand USD.

My Walker's game ears arrived a week or two ago and I've now had time to try them out. Quite frankly, they're fan-fuckin'-tastic. A true revelation in hearing. I can now hear jackals calling and birds singing again..... and I haven't been able to hear those things for at least two decades!

I'd recommend these to any shooter and they should buy them before their hearing gets as bad as mine!

one of us
posted Hide Post
You just have to remember to put them on!

Posts: 1092 | Location: Florida | Registered: 14 August 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of shakari
posted Hide Post
You're not kidding...... Roll Eyes

One of Us
Picture of Nevada Wapati
posted Hide Post
Steve, I'm curious as to what model you purchased and why you selected that one?

Like you I have lost too much of my hearing (espicially in crowds) and looking to save what little I have left.

Randy

Posts: 383 | Location: Carson City | Registered: 17 May 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of xs headspace
posted Hide Post