Find
Notify
Tools

2 way radio query....
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Greetings,

I am considering purchasing a pair of two way radios and I have no experience with them.

Any input regarding features, brands, etc., from those who use them would be most appreciated.

Thank you.

~Holmes

Posts: 1171 | Location: Wyoming, USA | Registered: 03 June 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I assume you're asking about FRS radios.First they have a maximum range of 2 miles down to about 3/4 mile in mountains.As usual such things cost more with more features.Try to find out your needs and and match features to that.Pay particular attention to batteries and their life. Motorola is probably the best brand.

one of us
posted Hide Post
I have a couple of Motorola T 5240's with NiCads that work just fine. The Motorola is a decent brand for an FRS handheld. Yaesu (a manufacturer of Ham equipment) had a great set of their Vertex brand FRS radios that were close to Mil Spec. They had good battery life and looked to be pretty durable. I'm not sure if they are still manufactured. I like the Yaesu brand and have used them as an Amateur Radio Operator for over 20 years.

Posts: 129 | Location: South Carolina | Registered: 16 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post