New
Find
Notify
Tools

TV technology
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
What should I be looking for/avoiding in a new TV? I posted this question 2 years ago and I am sure a lot has changed. There is plasma, LCD, LED etc. Looking for around a 40". Don't need 3D!
Thanks, Peter.

Be without fear in the face of your enemies. Be brave and upright, that God may love thee. Speak the truth always, even if it leads to your death. Safeguard the helpless and do no wrong;

Posts: 10505 | Location: Jacksonville, Florida | Registered: 09 January 2004Reply With Quote
Administrator
posted Hide Post
Peter,

We have both a plasma and a LCD.

Both are good, but they do have their differences.

I have no experience with LED screens, but have seen them in the shops.

For a 40 incher, you are almost certainly going to have to pick an LCD or an LED model, because I think plasla tend to be bigger.

My suggestion is you pick the biggest screen you can accomodate, as 40 inch tends to be on the small size right now.

Of course, if your videwing room can only accomodate that, then that is different.

Plasma have teh advantage of having a much wider viewing angle. But they tend to be less bright than an LCD screen.

My suggestion is to go and have a look at both, and pick the one that looks good to you.

Forget all the past claims of one being better for sports for instance than the other.

They are both very good now.

Bear in mind that you should pick one that support FULL HD 1080P. Also, you might consider having one with more than one HDMI input, as all futute HD sources will have to be connected via an HDMI.

I hope this helps you making a decision.

www.accuratereloading.com
Instagram : ganyana2000

Posts: 66901 | Location: Dubai, UAE | Registered: 08 January 1998Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post