THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM SMALL CALIBER FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Small Calibers    264 WM bullets for whitetail?? update on pg 2
Page 1 2 

Moderators: Paul H
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

264 WM bullets for whitetail?? update on pg 2
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I'm new to the 264 WM and was wondering if there is a consensus on hunting bullets? I have good accuracy with 130gr Scirocco's, TSX's and NAB's, 140 gr Sierra Game King and NAB. Both the 130 and 140 run low 3,200 fps.
Nothing over 300 yards, probably.
I have several boxes of factory Winchester 140 psp.

Running those speeds do I need to stick with the mono's and bonded?

Perry

Posts: 2246 | Location: South Texas | Registered: 01 November 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Labman
posted Hide Post
Any one of the bullets you mentioned will work fine for deer Shoot whatever is the most accurate in your gun.

Tom Z

NRA Life Member

Posts: 2286 | Location: Pennsylvania | Registered: 07 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Years ago, I had one of the original pre-64 Westerners. My favorite bullet was the 120 gr. Speer. At an estimated 3350 fps,it shot extremely flat and worked great on mule deer and antelope, so would also be fine for whitetails.

Clarence

Posts: 303 | Location: Hill Country, TX | Registered: 26 December 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Is a non-bonded bullet going to come apart at these velocities on medium game?

Perry

Posts: 2246 | Location: South Texas | Registered: 01 November 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
That might be a bit fast for a cup-and-core bullet, especially at close range velocities, assuming you want something left for the freezer.

Posts: 20076 | Location: Very NW NJ up in the Mountains | Registered: 14 June 2009Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Guess you guys like blood shot sauage! Wink