THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM SMALL CALIBER FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Small Calibers    using different powders not in manuals

Moderators: Paul H
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

using different powders not in manuals
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am new to reloading. I am trying to dial in my 243. I loaded up Hornady 95 gr sst with RL 17. I loaded up some Nosler 100 gr solids Spitzer with IMR 4895. I liked how the IMR 4895 shot.

Here is my problem, I would like to load up the SST with IMR 4895 but the hornady book has no loads for IMR 4895. Since the bullets are close to the same grain. I can use the amount of powder for the nosler with the hornday. If not how do you figure out how to use different powders with bullet company that don't list loads in the manuals.

Any help is welcomed

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Just go to the starting load and work your way up.

Posts: 662 | Location: NW Colorado | Registered: 10 December 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
To clarify, use the starting load for the 100 gr Noslers for the 95 gr SST and work your way up.

The five gr reduction going from the Nosler to the SST gives a small margin for safety.

Even the starting load will do well in the field if it is accurate. So, if you find an accuracy "sweet spot" on the way up, that could well be your "go to" load!

Posts: 89 | Location: Northern California | Registered: 11 April 2017Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
The advice you've been given is appropriate to follow when switching from one similar bullet to another. Perhaps a five grain reduction is too conservative and a five percent reduction might be more appropriate, but some reduction provides a margin of safety for bullets which may not behave like those used with similar powder charges.