New
Find
Notify
Tools

Want input on barrel length
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I just got into AR shooting and I'm a tack driver. I developed a 5.56 NATO load that works well at 100 yards with the stock barrel of a S&W M&P 15 but I want to go out to 600 yards so I'm looking at varmint barrels. http://www.model1sales.com/ind...play&category_id=264 Now on an AR forum, I'm told your best accuracy is with shorter barrels which I find hard to believe while others say going all the way to 24" is too far and you will lose accuracy and speed. There are so many conflicting stories, I thought I'd bring it to the experts; what's the real story. My current load is with a 52 grain boat tail bullet at about 2900 fps.

Posts: 203 | Location: Pittsburgh, PA | Registered: 24 December 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Both could bee right a long barrel is heavy and give a stabile rifle. A short barrel has less traveltime for the bullet, while parts are moving in the action.

Posts: 3611 | Location: Sweden | Registered: 02 May 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
This is my reply on the AR forum:

I'm confused, if a 5" barrel handgun is much more accurate than a snub nose and a rifle much more accurate at longer distances than a handgun, how is it that AR's are somewhat opposite? This confusion led me to the Savage web site as they are known for producing very accurate rifles. In their "Bench Rest" category, the Model 12 F/TR in .223 Rem has a 30" barrel. Why is that an accurate gun and an AR platform with a 24" barrel isn't? Seems to me that what platform strikes the primer is inconsequential when it comes to a bullet traveling down a barrel, except of course things like bedding.

Any comments?

-------------------------------------

Weight isn't a factor as I am using this for bench rest shooting at 600 yards.

I'm not trying to be a smartly, I think I may have answered my own question.