THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM AIR RIFLE FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Other Topics  Hop To Forums  Air Rifle    Daystate huntsman regal xl 22 vs 25

Moderators: big6x6
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Daystate huntsman regal xl 22 vs 25
 Login/Join

posted
After years of using springers, I decided to get a pcp rifle. I settled on the huntsman regal xl. I wanted a 22 but the guy at airguns of arizona said I should go with a 25. I need it for backyard pest control in northen Michigan including groundhogs, porcupines, squirrels, chipmunks etc.

I shot a porcupine with my 177 springer recently right behind the front shoulder at 15 yards and it acted like it wasnt even hit.

Any thoughts on 22 vs 25 in that rifle?

Thanks

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have no experience with .25 cal. I much prefer .20 cal to .22 cal. Haven't looked, but would guess .25 cal pellets harder to find and cost more.

Posts: 3803 | Location: san angelo tx | Registered: 18 November 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have RWS 48's in .177 and 25. Not sure what kills better but the 25 makes a greater sound when it hits. Sounds satisfying.

Posts: 1284 | Location: N.J | Registered: 16 October 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
To be honest, I view .22 air rifles as betwixt and between. For paper and plinking, I'd rather have a .177 and for hunting, I'd rather have a .25. That said, I'm fortunate enough to live in Texas so I have a suppressed .22 RF for pest control. My three springers and my Beeman P1 are all .177.

analog_peninsula
-----------------------

It takes character to withstand the rigors of indolence.

Posts: 1580 | Location: Dallas, Tx | Registered: 02 June 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of jdollar
posted Hide Post