Find
Notify
Tools

Shooting Issues
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I purchased a Beeman RS2 Series .177.

I realize that this is the lower end model and I believe I only paid a $100 for it.

I swapped out the scope that came with it and replaced it with a Simmons 3x9. I know, the Simmons is not high end either. However, the scope had never been used and looked like it would work for what I needed.

I started shooting this afternoon (a lot)! I was shooting close range, ended at 20 yards. I was shooting somewhat consistent. I moved out to 40 yards and was still doing fairly good.

Towards the end of the evening, I now have NO consistency! I am all over the target and/or missing it entirely!

Is is a cleaning issue? Maybe it's just the shooter ha ha......

Posts: 2640 | Location: Utah | Registered: 23 February 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of jdollar
posted Hide Post
More likely a scope issue. The Simmons is probably not rated for a springer and the innards have been shaken loose. Check that it is still solidly mounted. If it is, take it off, remount the original scope and see what happens, even if only for a few shots. If reasonably accurate, the Simmons is the issue.

Vote Trump- Putin’s best friend…

Posts: 13143 | Location: Georgia | Registered: 28 October 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
quote:
The Simmons is probably not rated for a springer and the innards have been shaken loose

I had a Simmons lasted about 20 shots

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by ramrod340:
quote:
The Simmons is probably not rated for a springer and the innards have been shaken loose

I had a Simmons lasted about 20 shots

Scope was new but but I can see your point. Especially, given the fact that it is a Simmons scope.

I will try another scope. I am not expecting great results for a $100 gun; just good results!