Find
Notify
Tools

Anyone still use a bore mop?
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Buglemintoday
posted
I've never used one before...I've always pushed patches through...whether it was oil or solvent...or Wipeout then patch it out of the barrel.

A benchrest shooter at the range had a few cleaning rods with bore mops on them and I thought that was interesting. I guess with brake cleaner it would clean the mop so it could be re used?

What do you use one for or why do you/don't you use one?

"Let me start off with two words: Made in America"

Posts: 3315 | Location: Permian Basin | Registered: 16 December 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
They are useful for slopping in a quantity of bore cleaner and then letting it work it's magic. Yes they are easily cleaned with a clear solvent like brake cleaner.

Posts: 3665 | Location: SC,USA | Registered: 07 March 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of BNagel
posted Hide Post
I use a large bore mop with a patch over it to sweep the chamber/throat area after Boretech Eliminator treatment of same with nylon pistol brush. First with KROIL, then a fresh patch to finish.

I do not use them in the bore...

Posts: 4848 | Location: Clute, Texas | Registered: 12 January 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I find the bore and solvent is hard on them and they don't retain there size.I find them good when applying a gel like oil like K-lube or a solvent like sweet's.They get the gel to foam up and stick to the bore walls evenly.Lately I bought some so I can use with a bore cable need I want to quickly remove any moisture or oil from the bore while hunting or in camp.I think they are more useful in larger bores like a 450 or 500.

Posts: 11651 | Location: Montreal | Registered: 07 November 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of McKay
posted Hide Post
I only use oversized ones to swab the chamber clean when I am finished cleaning the bore after removing the bore guide.

Mac