Find
Notify
Tools

Copper Fouling wont stop
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of bushwackr
posted
Hello I am having trouble with my better halfs 270wsm savage. When she got the gun she couldnt hit anything, so I started shooting it with no improvement. I figured it needs to be bedded, so had it bedded. Same thing poor accuracy. I figured id clean it. Well I took after it with Butches and a bronze brush. I would sit 5 min or so between passes. Every pad comes out lookin like it was painted with green paint. LOTS of copper in the barrel. I repeated this for at least two hours. Still comes out green. The local gunsmith figures that the throat is eroded. I want to try cleaning again the gun is only 2 years old we've had it for one of those years. Any suggestion on cleaning methods. Thanks All popcorn

"If guns cause crime, all of mine are defective."
- Ted Nugent -

Posts: 55 | Location: North Dakota | Registered: 18 March 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I am pretty sure Savage would like to hear about your problem. What you are describing sounds to me like a rough bore barrel got away from the factory. The shorld be more than happy to replace the barrel or lap it and smooth it up. Having seen what you are talking about myself its both time consuming and frustrating and I would not waste another minute, just to do it all over again. Savage barrels are readily available at very cheap prices. Contact Jim Briggs at Northland SHooters Supply 763-420-7163 for his opinion. He is a very knowledgable and friendly distributor.

One of Us
Picture of bushwackr
posted Hide Post
Thanks I will call savage in the morning, and see what they say, just checkin to see if anyone else has run across this. Thanks

- Ted Nugent -

one of us
posted Hide Post
bushwackr, first off, I think that is good advice from hammertyme. So having said that, I would follow up as you stated you would.