New
Find
Notify
Tools

Wipout - how many patches to use?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted Hide Post
For the Wipe Out foam, I found a straw that just fit the nozzle. On the other end, I just put a few wraps of electric tape to make a tight fit to the chamber neck. Then I just take a quick shot in to the bore and make sure the muzzle is over an old trash can. If it drips, I don't care.

Larry

"Peace is that brief glorious moment in history, when everybody stands around reloading" -- Thomas Jefferson

Posts: 3942 | Location: Kansas USA | Registered: 04 February 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by N E 450 No2:
shootaway

I have been shooting rifles since the mid 1960's.

Some barrels have more problems with the first round out than others...

I freely admit, that I stumbled upon this Prolix "treatment" by accident.

I have tried it on several barrels, now they have been quality barrels, but still it has been 100% effective in causing the first round out of a clean barrel to hit with the following rounds.

I have also used it alone to "punch out" a barrel I am shooting quite a bit at the range. Again there is no shift in zero of the first round.

Give it a try.

What I do is, after whatever I use to clean a barrel, I use a very wet patch or two of Prolix, for several strokes in the barrel then I make sure to dry out the chamber and barrel before I shoot again.

Result, no wild first shot...

I run quite a few dry patches through my bores. Good quality barrels will put the first shot right on the money. I think concept of a "fouling shot" is more like a "get the residual cleaning fluid/oil out shot."

Don't Ever Book a Hunt with Jeff Blair
http://forums.accuratereloadin...821061151#2821061151

Posts: 7570 | Location: Arizona and off grid in CO | Registered: 28 July 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Nakihunter: