New
Find
Notify
Tools

I just received my new AR-50!!!
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I gave up on my LAR and took the plunge for the Armalite. It sure is a good looking gun! I will try to get it sighted in this weekend. Any tips or suggestions? I am pretty excited.

Posts: 186 | Location: High in the Rockies | Registered: 29 October 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Bob G
posted Hide Post
Congrats on your new rifle. What type of scope are you going to mount on it? 50's can be rough on scopes because of the muzzle brakes. I have been shooting BMG's for about 19 years. Great fun. Think about joining the Fifty Caliber Shooters Association. Great bunch of guys and a wealth of info. Web site is FCSA.ORG if you didn't already know. Good luck with it.
Bob G.

Do it right the first time.

Posts: 239 | Location: North Smithfield, RI USA | Registered: 09 March 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have a Leupold Mark 4 4.5-14X that I will use. I am already a proud member of the FCSA, the suggestions and ideas in their forum really helped. I have some Surplus 5010 powder on hand that I will make up some loads with. I have AP and 750gr. AMAX projrctiles. Any suggestions for a starting charge?

Posts: 186 | Location: High in the Rockies | Registered: 29 October 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
yes about 205 grains

Third eye blinds the other two!
A bullet smith.

Posts: 61 | Location: ga | Registered: 06 January 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Bob G
posted Hide Post
Get one of these headspace gauges from MidwayUSA.
L.E. Wilson Cartridge Headspace Gage 50 BMG
Product #: 472914
Our Price: $17.69
It will tell you if you are sizing your brass too much and also checks your case length.
Quality is great and price is also.
Hopefully the link below will work or you can enter the product no.
http://www.midwayusa.com/esearch.exe/search
Good Luck

Do it right the first time.