Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

7.62x39 Encore Question w/ Introduction
 Login/Join

posted
New member here, would like to thank all for some interesting and informative reading.

I have been reloading for alittle over 8 years or so. Starting out on a lee anniversary kit and quickly upgrading to a Dillon 550B and hope to have a Redding Big Boss II soon. I have loaded serveral common handgun and rifle cartridges. (9mm,10mm,44 Mag,45ACP,.223,.220 Swift,22-250,7.62x39,.308,30-06,300WM). I shoot a little benchrest informally, Dabble in long range shooting out to 1000 yards though most has been around 800, I like shooting Prarie dogs, and have chased after a few coyotes.

I should soon be recieving a 15" 7.62x39 Encore pistol barrel.
I would liike to know if any one else has any load data specific to a hand gun. It will be used mostly for target shooting bu tmay find it's way afield for coyote.

Furthermore since this barrel has a .308 dia bore is there any danger in firing a .311 dia bullet from a factory loading such as Winchester white box. I would think it best not to and is not something I plan to do, Just wondering if it can be done...Safely.

Thanks to all, I look forward to being a member here.

Posts: 21 | Location: Central Illinois | Registered: 20 December 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Not the expert of course, but Fox Ridge told me to not fire that .311 ammunition in my Encore .308 bore, so I don't. Loads of .30 caliber bullets to choose from, you would be taking a unnecessary chance with a .311 bullet. r in s.

Posts: 866 | Location: Puget Sound country | Registered: 18 January 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Steve E.
posted Hide Post
I have one for my Encore from MGM and they didn't say anything about shooting .311 bullets in it when I talked to them about it. It shoot equally well with both diameter bullets with no outward pressure signs.

Steve E........

NRA Patron Life Member
GOA Life Member
North American Hunting Club Life Member