THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Hunting  Hop To Forums  Hunting Media And Publications    The Death Spiral of Hunting Magazines...
Page 1 2 3 4 5 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

The Death Spiral of Hunting Magazines...
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted Hide Post
A friend writes for HL and Rifle, has for several years now. He tells me that they do not want to make the readership think too hard these days.

Ya gotta love it...

Posts: 23062 | Location: SW Idaho | Registered: 19 December 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Larry Sellers:
DC - I have been subscribing to Sports Afield for several years now and agree that it is/was he best out there. I always renew at either SCI or DSC but having real reservations this year.

I always have to cut out the pages containing Shane Mahoney and his crap immediately upon arrival. Now my last/current issue had 12 pages of high dollar Real Estate ads. I don't buy Real Estate from a hunting mag, so most likely will not renew if this is the way they are headed. Anyone else out there see this as odd? Confused

I still get "new" Sports Afield and have done for many years now. I look at the real-estate ads as a curiosity. As long as they help pay for the magazine and don't replace any of the written content then I don't much care. I think the tie-up with DSC is a big reason for the Mahoney editorials. I think they are a bit too long and probably more suited to a rear-page final thought rather than featuring so prominently up-front, but if the DSC aim is to educate or at least provoke debate, then I guess that is a good enough reason. Given the ongoing issues in the hunting world, it may be a bit complacent to cut it altogether - if they do, what is the purpose of the DSC tie-up?