One of Us
posted

Posts: 8274 | Location: Mississippi | Registered: 12 April 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
They are simply the best.

salute

Just Remember, We ALL Told You So.

Posts: 22442 | Location: Occupying Little Minds Rent Free | Registered: 04 October 2012Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
With "Fly by Wire" aircraft is it possible to program them to fly in formation as a unit to clearance minimums or do you think they are flying that tight by each hand?

Posts: 3666 | Location: SC,USA | Registered: 07 March 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
They are flying by hand. "Fly by wire" refers to how the control stick sends electrical inputs to the servos vs the stick sending control inputs via direct mechanical linkage to the servos.

I got nearly that close a couple times in my USAF career when I was an instructor in T-38s. We would be flying through thick clouds and I didn't want to lose sight and go "lost wingman." Our normal fingertip formation was three foot wing tip clearance. I backed up a couple feet and moved into about one foot wingtip clearance until we broke out of the weather.

BTW, while the Blue Angels are more showy to watch, the Thunderbirds fly a little more precisely.

Posts: 3701 | Location: Oregon | Registered: 27 May 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
And they do all that without a G-Suit by the way.

In regards to which team is better - I would like to see the Thunderbirds try a carrier trap at night...

Wink

Just Remember, We ALL Told You So.

Posts: 22442 | Location: Occupying Little Minds Rent Free | Registered: 04 October 2012Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Regardless.....on the edge and something about splitting a blonde cunt hair. Smiler

Posts: 8274 | Location: Mississippi | Registered: 12 April 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Opus1:
And they do all that without a G-Suit by the way.