New
Find
Notify
Tools

Privi Partisan 7X57???
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
With the cost of ammo rising extreamly, I notice that Privi Partisan is still reasonable but, I have no experience with it. I'm asking of the European Hunters their experiences, specifically with 139 grain loads, with accuracy and performance on game. This load looks to have a round nose bullet, which doesn't bother me in the least because I hunt thick forest and my shots are at 30 to 130 yards. The typical deer here weigh 100-140 pounds. Any help would be appreciated.

Posts: 212 | Location: Louisiana, U.S.A. | Registered: 26 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Joe,

I am not European, although Louisiana might seem foreign, but I am a big fan of the 7x57 cartridge. I used the Privi loads one season and found them to be excellent cartridges. The velocity is generally better that most US loaded 7x57's. Accuracy was good at about 1" @ 100yds, and bullet performance on the few deer I had the opporunity to shoot was very good. I did not continue to use the Privi because Norma shoots better in most of my 7x57's. I finally got a source for the Norma at Black Hills Shooters Supply but they are still nearly twice the cost of Privi and S&B. Take a look at S&B as an option also, while inexpensive the 173 gr load shoots well in most military twist rifles and the "wadcutter" shaped bullet makes a clean entry hole and is devestating on whitetail.

Jeff

Posts: 603 | Location: Louisiana USA | Registered: 24 August 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I killed a number of deer here in Virginia, USA with the Privi 173 and a spanish mauser in 7x57. No theatrics. Deer just get sleepy and lay down.

Posts: 831 | Location: Virginia | Registered: 28 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Cazador humilde
posted Hide Post
Louisiana, the last feudal state. God love 'em.

Posts: 1278 | Location: Texas Hill Country | Registered: 31 May 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us