Find
Notify
Tools

Varmint bullets and fur
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Hi all.
I would like to keep the fur from the foxes I shoot at winter time, but I’m a bit uncertain about which bullets and velocity. Say a 40 or 50 grs v-max, will 4000fps impact be so violent that the fur is ripped to pieces, and maybe a more relaxed v-max in .222 rem velociy will be better fur-like? I have a 22-250 btw.

I’m new to the whole fur business, and have used a drilling in 7x57R with Sierra Varminter during summer time. No one wants that fur, I can tell you.

Posts: 33 | Location: I'm right here | Registered: 31 January 2017Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
The 4000fps is the "killer" in that deal. I shot a beautiful fox last spring with a .223 Contender handgun at 177 yards with a 50 gr. VMax. There was a 1/2" hole in the hide easily hidden on my full body mount.
I've been shooting deer/groundhogs with a 6mm AI handgun and 85 gr. Nosler PTs. Very small hole and 1/2" damage, but everything falls at the shot including deer at 352 and 401.
You might get by with 40 gr. VMaxes. It's the only bullet I've used in my .22-250 handguns that has never exited a groundhog or deer, no matter the range or size.
You're right on the reduced velocity. It will work.

Larry Rogers

Posts: 249 | Location: eastern WV | Registered: 01 December 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Keep the velocity down a bit less than 3000fps and use either 35 or 40gr v'max. should be ok with chest hits.
Don't hit heavy bones though.

The 35's are only good n accurate out to less than 200yds, then they go nuts for accuracy. re: "all over the hillside" is what they did for me in .223.

Depending on range, a 17 M2, or HMR or some such would be perfect.

I use a .17 made from a necked down 5.7 case. 20gr v'max, about 3460fps does just wonderful. Kills 'em quick, no damage, just a 17 hole going in.