Find
Notify
Tools

looking for a new pocket knife.....
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Eland Slayer
posted
I'm looking for a new pocket knife. I've been carrying a Gerber for 5 years, but I'm ready for something better that will HOLD AN EDGE. This Gerber does not hold a very good edge. I'm looking for a 3" to 4" folding, one-handed operation, smooth edge knife with a pocket clip. Preferably a wood handle. Any suggestions? Do any of you custom guys build pocket knives?

Also, do I need to be looking for a carbon steel knife instead of just stainless? I appreciate any info you guys can give me.

Hunt Report - South Africa 2022

Wade Abadie - Wild Shot Photography
Website | Facebook | Instagram

Posts: 3106 | Location: Hockley, TX | Registered: 01 October 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Spyderco Native with S30V blade.

xxxxxxxxxx
When considering US based operations of guides/outfitters, check and see if they are NRA members. If not, why support someone who doesn't support us? Consider spending your money elsewhere.

NEVER, EVER book a hunt with BLAIR WORLDWIDE HUNTING or JEFF BLAIR.

I have come to understand that in hunting, the goal is not the goal but the process.

Posts: 17099 | Location: Texas USA | Registered: 07 May 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of billinthewild
posted Hide Post
Kershaw blur.....the best and with free resharpening as needed. thumb

"When you play, play hard; when you work, don't play at all."
Theodore Roosevelt

Posts: 4263 | Location: Pinetop, Arizona | Registered: 02 January 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
With all due respect, there is NO contest between the 440A steel of the Kershaw and the S30V of the Spyderco. There are other pocket knives besides Spyderco (possibly including Kershaw?) with S30V but if you want premium edge holding ability, then don't get a lesser steel. Spyderco's VG-10 is pretty good as well, but not up to S30V.

xxxxxxxxxx