New
Find
Notify
Tools

Skinner's Choice
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
During the last fifteen years I have spent much of my life in hunting safari camps in Africa. Alot of game has come into camp. I don't skin it. I had a crew of boys trained as skinners at Mweka Wildlife College in Tanzania. The clients gave them hundreds of different kind of knives to skin with. You name the brand. But the one knife the skinners, who actually have to do the work, prefer are the French Opinel folding knives with the carbon and not stainless steel blades.

They are inexpensive, light, safe and its easy to get the soft blades so sharp you can shave with them. As with bolt action rifle actions most expensive is not always best. The Opinel is better than a Buck. The 98 Mauser is better than a Blaser.

VBR,

Ted Gorsline

Posts: 1116 | Location: asted@freenet.de | Registered: 14 January 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Ted as a chef I've spent too much time sharpening knives. I hate it. The last chefs knife I'd ever use is a Henkle, although I own lots of them they stay in the drawer. The steel is too hard to sharpen using normal methods. I need a knife that has softer steel and is fast to sharpen-victorinox comes to mind. A softish steel takes an incredible edge and is fast to sharpen even on a steel if necesary. For a fighting knife I'd choose a harder steel because it isn't often used for anything else and can stay sharp for a long time in its sheath.

the chef

One of Us
Picture of billinthewild
posted Hide Post
Several years ago my brother gave me a Cold Steel folder that locks like the Opinel. Called the Twistmaster. 4 3/4" Carbon V blade; typical composite black "checkered" Cold Steel handle. Kept it in my hunting pack. First time I used it was a month ago on a red deer and a feral hog, and it was fine. In front of me now and sharp enough to go a few more critters. clap

"When you play, play hard; when you work, don't play at all."
Theodore Roosevelt