New
Find
Notify
Tools

Damascus knives
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I don't know what the proper way to ask this but what is the deal with 'Damascus' style blade? Is it just for looks or does it do anything special for the metal?
I'm new to the whole knife thing and am trying to learn.
Thanks

Posts: 3456 | Location: Austin, TX | Registered: 17 January 2007Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Charles_Helm
posted Hide Post
Original Damascus blades were made of a steel with natural patterns called waterings. There were high carbon and were reputed to have excellent edge-holding capability. Some have recreated the steel with "wootz" blades but they are rare.

Most "Damascus" blades are pattern-welded, combinations of different types of steel layered and welded together. They are etched with an acid to show the pattern caused by the layers of different types of steel.

Mete is probably the steel expert who can tell you if there are any metallurgical benefits.

Example of patterns in a Wootz blade I have:

Posts: 8773 | Location: Republic of Texas | Registered: 24 April 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Charles,
I'm going to start referring to you as the 'Renaissance Man'. Your varied knowledge and experiences in so many areas is quite unique. Thanks for the info and hope you and your family are doing well up in Big D.

Posts: 3456 | Location: Austin, TX | Registered: 17 January 2007Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Charles_Helm
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by bluefin:
Charles,
I'm going to start referring to you as the 'Renaissance Man'. Your varied knowledge and experiences in so many areas is quite unique. Thanks for the info and hope you and your family are doing well up in Big D.

I know a little, enough to be dangerous. There are some knifemakers on here and as I said Mete is the metal guy. Bladeforums and Swordforum are a couple of places for more information if you get into knives and/or swords.