THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FAVORITE LOADS FORUM

Moderators: Saeed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Seeking favorite loads for .250-3000..............
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
What are your favorite loads for .250-3000 ?

Posts: 383 | Location: Indiana | Registered: 22 November 2015Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I like H414 or WW-760 the same in a different wrapper..It works great with most any bullet..However lately Ive been using CFE-223 and its also a great powder...The 250-3000 is easy to load for and not particular about bullets or powder and Ive never seen one that wasnt accurate..I don't quote powder charges, but recommend two grains below book max with the 99 Savage, and I go over max a few grains in a good bolt gun..Ive been shooting the 250 since 1950 when I bought my first 99 EG..I shot my dads 99F for a number of years before that and its still my go to deer rifle, Mule deer or whitetail..I like cup and core bullets, Silvertips, Corelokts, Hornadys, Sierra 90 gr. Gameking, BTHPs...Nosler partition for elk..I stay with 85 to 100 gr. bullets for deer and about everything else...Hodgedon Reloading book ( the magazine issue ) has lots of good data and gives pressure readings also, and won't break the bank..

Other powders you might like are H380, H335, 4895, BAlC2, to name a few..

Most accurate bullet seems to be the 90 gr. HPBT sierra GAmeking, in all my 250s..and does a good job on deer btw..might consider the nosler accubond for deer also, Have not tried it but those bullets sure do shoot great in my other calibers and a great hunting bullet.

Ray Atkinson
Atkinson Hunting Adventures
10 Ward Lane,
Filer, Idaho, 83328
208-731-4120

rayatkinsonhunting@gmail.com

Posts: 41820 | Location: Twin Falls, Idaho | Registered: 04 June 2000Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post