Find
Notify
Tools

stiirup question
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Hello
I am a right leg below the knee amputee.
Since the amputation in 08 I have had very minimal time riding
I have been caring for a friend's place and his horse for the last 5 months and this has gotten my interest up again
Is there a stirrup that would be safe for someone who no longer has a foot/toes/ankle ?
Thoughts on best knee and leg placement and length?
Thank you
DS coues

Posts: 336 | Location: flagstaff az | Registered: 16 November 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Find a good saddle maker and he will fix you up..

Arizona is full of good saddle makers, probablly make a cup stirrup would be my guess...Learn to jump to the stirrup with the good leg, most cowboys do that anyway..while your at it asked about a quick detachable seat belt. I have a friend that had polio and has no feeling below his belt and he is a team roper..Ive roped with him a number of times..

Ray Atkinson
Atkinson Hunting Adventures
10 Ward Lane,
Filer, Idaho, 83328
208-731-4120

rayatkinsonhunting@gmail.com

Posts: 41833 | Location: Twin Falls, Idaho | Registered: 04 June 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Thank you
ds coues

Posts: 336 | Location: flagstaff az | Registered: 16 November 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
couasL

PM coming off the subject

"Gun Control is NOT about Guns'
"It's about Control!!"
Join the NRA today!"

LM: NRA, DAV,

George L. Dwight

Posts: 5943 | Location: Pueblo, CO | Registered: 31 January 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Had a bum knee one summer.. spent many hours in saddle without using either stirrup other than mounting improved my seat ten fold

Posts: 1612 | Location: Vermont | Registered: 27 March 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of loud-n-boomer
posted Hide Post