New
Find
Notify
Tools

Gaining Trust
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have been working off and on with a little mustang mare for about three years.

She generally works well once you get her haltered, but she is a little hard to catch.

She has a habit of pinning her ears back and swiveling her backend around.

She has been known to kick people including her owner and a farrier.

A few weeks ago I went to catch her, and when she went into kicking posture, I just started talking to her.

After a few minutes, she turned her head to me and let me halter her.

Now she lets me halter her even when she is eating. No more ears back and turning her butt to me.

Her owner and others still have to do that little kicking threat dance to catch her.

It is gratifying when you have little breakthroughs with a specific horse.

BH63

Hunting buff is better than sex!

Posts: 2205 | Registered: 29 December 2015Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Aspen Hill Adventures
posted Hide Post
Good job!

~Ann

Posts: 19127 | Location: The LOST Nation | Registered: 27 March 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Sounds like she needs to be desensitized and you need to start over from square one..When you start a horse don't quit, finish the job..

you need a round pen and lots of circles on the long rope, and when she gets worn out she will turn and come to you, you will be her security blanket, never let her turn away or sideways from you..it won't take you long to get her attention..Mustangs being a wild animal tend to be a little harder to work with than domestic horses. Go slower and longer, but use the same methods..

Things have changed over the years as to horse breaking,