THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM BIG BORE FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Big Bores    450/400 for a “one gun” Safari

Moderators: jeffeosso
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

450/400 for a “one gun” Safari Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Would a scoped double rifle in 450/400 with a scope in QD rings be a suitable all around rifle for an African hunt?

Posts: 762 | Location: Tallahassee, FL | Registered: 11 December 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Yes. But not as good as a 375 Flanged Magnum with 235 and a 300 gr Woodleighs.

USMC Retired
DSC Life Member
SCI Life Member
NRA Life Member

Posts: 730 | Location: Maryland Eastern Shore | Registered: 27 September 2013Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of cal pappas
posted Hide Post
Yes it is. I have been using a scoped 450-400 Harrison and Hussey for 20+ years. 2019 took 16 plains game and one Cape buffalo, ranges from 30 to a measured 214 yards. Buffalo was stopped with two shots, all plains game with one.

the 450-400 has also taken leopard, lion, hippo croc, cape and water buffalo, more plains game, whitetail and two dozen caribou in Alaska. It has been my main hunting rifle for over two decades.

Cal

Cal Pappas, Willow, Alaska
www.CalPappas.com
www.CalPappas.blogspot.com
1994 Zimbabwe
1997 Zimbabwe
1998 Zimbabwe
1999 Zimbabwe
1999 Namibia, Botswana, Zambia--vacation
2000 Australia
2002 South Africa
2003 South Africa
2003 Zimbabwe
2005 South Africa
2005 Zimbabwe
2006 Tanzania
2006 Zimbabwe--vacation
2007 Zimbabwe--vacation
2008 Zimbabwe
2012 Australia
2013 South Africa
2013 Zimbabwe
2013 Australia
2016 Zimbabwe
2017 Zimbabwe
2018 South Africa
2018 Zimbabwe--vacation
2019 South Africa
2019 Botswana
2019 Zimbabwe vacation
2021 South Africa
2021 South Africa (2nd hunt a month later)

Posts: 7281 | Location: Willow, Alaska | Registered: 29 June 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Bill73