THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM BIG BORE FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Big Bores    Any use for the "C-Clap Grip"

Moderators: jeffeosso
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Any use for the "C-Clap Grip" Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Bwana_500
posted
I probably already know the awnser to this question, but at what point in the recoil spectrum does the "C-Clap Grip" become ineffective for managing recoil? It seems that the cool tactical kids (look ma, I'm an operator) predominantly shooting what Jeff Cooper would have referred to as "Poodle Shooters" that are using this stance. Is there really anything to redeem this grip at all? Maybe I'm missing something?

Posts: 425 | Location: Australia | Registered: 03 September 2006Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Whoa!, and I thought this was going to be about a studdering venereal disease. Smiler

One of Us
Picture of Fury01
posted Hide Post
I don't think it is effective in managing Recoil at all. I think it is a fad, somewhat useful in pointing and not over-swinging the rifle target to target but that is it. Accessories like shown in your photo and the proper use thereof is better at managing recoil.

"The liberty enjoyed by the people of these states of worshiping Almighty God agreeably to their conscience, is not only among the choicest of their blessings, but also of their rights."
~George Washington - 1789

Posts: 2135 | Location: Where God breathes life into the Amber Waves of Grain and owns the cattle on a thousand hills. | Registered: 20 August 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of sambarman338
posted Hide Post
quote:
Clap Grip

Until 10 minutes ago, I knew nothing about the C-Clamp grip but from the YouTube explanation ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mQbAbYjqZIs ) think it might help hold down a barrel rising under heavy recoil.