THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM BIG BORE FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Rifles  Hop To Forums  Big Bores    Using only solids in your big bore?
Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 

Moderators: jeffeosso
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Using only solids in your big bore? Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of badboymelvin
posted
Hi guys,

Just say you are armed with a .416, .458WM, Lott etc.. and you are in elephant country so you are only armed with premium solids.
If you also wanted to hunt a variety of other game such as buff, lion, warthog etc... how effective are solids in a big bore on smaller than elephant sized game?
I'm assuming that they would still kill quite well, but I have zero experience on this.

Thanks guys,

Russ.

You'll probably never NEED a gun. In fact I hope you never do. BUT IF you do, you will probably need it worse than anything you've ever needed before in your life...

Posts: 160 | Location: Melbourne, Australia  | Registered: 19 August 2013Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of cal pappas
posted Hide Post
I've used solids on plenty of plains game. All they do is punch a hole in the animal and don't expand so the exit hole is the same size as the entrance hole. If shot properly the animal dies quickly. If shot poorly, such as a gut shot, it takes longer to die or is less of a wound due to no expansion. I used my .600 Wilkes on smaller game often with solids.
Cal

Cal Pappas, Willow, Alaska
www.CalPappas.com
www.CalPappas.blogspot.com
1994 Zimbabwe
1997 Zimbabwe
1998 Zimbabwe
1999 Zimbabwe
1999 Namibia, Botswana, Zambia--vacation
2000 Australia
2002 South Africa
2003 South Africa
2003 Zimbabwe
2005 South Africa
2005 Zimbabwe
2006 Tanzania
2006 Zimbabwe--vacation
2007 Zimbabwe--vacation
2008 Zimbabwe
2012 Australia
2013 South Africa
2013 Zimbabwe
2013 Australia
2016 Zimbabwe
2017 Zimbabwe
2018 South Africa
2018 Zimbabwe--vacation
2019 South Africa
2019 Botswana