THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM SHOTGUN FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Other Topics  Hop To Forums  Shotgunning    Shotgun fit--its a mystery to me.....
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Shotgun fit--its a mystery to me.....
 Login/Join

<ChuckD>
posted
For a guy a bit beyond "middle-aged", I have questions befitting a new and young shooter. I am relatively new to shotguns, and have discovered that the most ill-fitting shotgun I have is the one I shoot best?!!!!? I have been attending YHEC events with my daughter (who is the Oregon Jr. Girls Champion as of two weeks ago) and have been shooting with a bunch of kids and adults doing a form of sporting clays once a week. My daughters gun is a Baikal O/U, and is shortened 1/2", which makes the comb too high for me. My father-in-law loaned me a Sears semi with an adjustable poly choke which I've done okay with a trap 17-19 hits per round now. Then a friend gave me a Savage Fox that had a really bad finish, and a broken striker. I had the action repaired, while I refinished the wood. The gun is quite nice looking, but I found that there was so much drop in the stock, that I had difficulty in finding my cheek with the stock! I took it out one day for sporting clays and astounded myself with a 23 and a 22! Half the time my stock was not on my face, but the gun just hits anyway. Unfortunately, the gun has been in the shop for the last 3 months, so I am shooting little. The Fox has very open chokes, one IC and one closer to cylinder. It is , of course a s/s, in 20 gauge with 24" barrels. I can shoot 20's frequently on the trap range with this gun, which shouldn't be possible. Anyway,what are some guidelines one should follow in selecting a shotgun, regarding fit? I am and have always been a rifle shooter, and am sure this works against me, as everything I know seems to be wrong where a shotgun is concerned. I am more interested in "real" responses