New
Find
Notify
Tools

AR v/s bolt rifle noise level?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Do you guys notice any difference in the noise level with suppressed subsonic loads in an AR 300 Blackout versus a bolt rifle with the same ammo??

Posts: 206 | Location: North Alabama | Registered: 13 January 2006Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
The AR is louder to the ear because of the action noise (bolt carrier & buffer spring motion) and gas escaping the ejection port.

You have to listen for it, though.

George

Posts: 14623 | Location: San Antonio, TX | Registered: 22 May 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I expected that was the case but wanted a second opinion. I'm going to dedicate a night vision scope to a suppressed 300 blackout for hog hunting. I was thinking a bolt gun for minimum noise but an AR would be nice for possible multiple shots. I shoot an AR now but have never shot a suppressed blackout in a bolt gun so I have no first hand knowledge.

Posts: 206 | Location: North Alabama | Registered: 13 January 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
You can quit down the spring-buffet noise next to your ear...with a Jp Buffer Spring....

https://www.jprifles.com/1.4.7.2_os.php

Posts: 424 | Location: Lk. St.Clair | Registered: 11 February 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Nimrod308:
I expected that was the case but wanted a second opinion. I'm going to dedicate a night vision scope to a suppressed 300 blackout for hog hunting. I was thinking a bolt gun for minimum noise but an AR would be nice for possible multiple shots. I shoot an AR now but have never shot a suppressed blackout in a bolt gun so I have no first hand knowledge.

Get a bolt.

I have a 300 blackout ruger American with a timney trigger. It is a blast to shoot with subsonic ammo.

Mike

Posts: 13145 | Location: Cocoa Beach, Florida | Registered: 22 July 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of DuggaBoye
posted Hide Post
just remember