New
Find
Notify
Tools

AM Radio
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
So I live very rural. The nearest city with AM radio signal is about an hour away. They shut off their long range signal at sundown year round. That means there is no reception at different times depending on the time of the year. I pretty much hate that once they flip the local switch I get music from Mexico instead of what is local.

I would like to improve my AM reception as the best news and talk radio is on the AM stations out here. What options are there to improve this without a huge cost?

~Ann

Posts: 19137 | Location: The LOST Nation | Registered: 27 March 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Ann, I am no expert but the guy who used to work with me was a HAM operator + the mounted 2 posts on the top of my 40' deep shop + strung a horizontal wire between them + he picked up a lot of far off stations. The only guy who ever noticed the wire assembly was another operator. I don't know if this will work for A.M. but if one can get reception due to their teeth fillings then it might be worth a try. I would like to hear results.

Never mistake motion for action.

Posts: 17357 | Location: Austin, Texas | Registered: 11 March 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
One of Us
posted Hide Post

Posts: 403 | Location: CA | Registered: 30 May 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Interesting.

Never mistake motion for action.

Posts: 17357 | Location: Austin, Texas | Registered: 11 March 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Well, gosh. This looks like an easy job.

Thanks, Smokin Joe! tu2

~Ann

Posts: 19137 | Location: The LOST Nation | Registered: 27 March 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post

posted Hide Post