Find
Notify
Tools

Who shoots a 28 for upland?
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Fallow Buck
posted Hide Post
There are a lot of guys here shooting 28's on driven birds and claiming they kill just as well as the bigger guns, (bragging rights on their shooting capability...Wink )

When you look closer they are shooting 12gauge loads down a 28gauge tube...

Personally I like the little guns but you need to use them in the right place. Shooting walked up pheasants I would refrain somewhat but if I can get under a bird and shoot it straight on then it does the job.

Tighter chokes help with the patterning if you are shooting normal loads for the gun and longer barrels also will make it a more stable proposition.

K

Posts: 4096 | Location: London | Registered: 03 April 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Bill,
You will LOVE your new semi-auto! If you are a reasonably able wing shot, you will enjoy shooting it.
I have been shooting them for over 50 yrs. now and don't intend to stop. If you practice on the Skeet field you will be ready for wild birds.
As was suggested earlier, the B&P ammo w/ nickel plated shot does well on pheasant size birds. Normal 3/4 oz. loads work fine Aldo, OR you can load your own cheaply. Enjoy...!
All the best,
Wes

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I only shoot target loads in any shotgun then adjust the shot size. If you shoot a load of 1 1/8th oz 7 1/2's from your 12ga at 1200fps and 3/4oz of the same shot at the same velocity from your 28, the only difference will be the pattern density at different ranges!

Posts: 526 | Location: Antelope, Oregon | Registered: 06 July 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Bill,