New
Find
Notify
Tools

Rem XP-100
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I just picked up a Remington XP-100 that appears to have less than a box of shells run through it, with a Burris 5x. I am familiar with the XP as I already have a custom barreled 7-08 and a 308 but I have no experience with the .35 Remington. Anybody out there have one that could give me some clues. Gonna use if for bear in September. Got all the reloading stuff and a couple of boxes of factory for sighting in. I think it will work just fine and the ranges that I get bear to come in to are less than 35 yards. Any clues?

Posts: 4214 | Location: Southern Colorado | Registered: 09 October 2011Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
In the east many a bear and deer have been taken with the 35 Rem. Though similar on paper to the 30-30 those who use it say it's significantly better [bigger hole !!] tu2
Don't use lighter than 200 grain bullets. Someone makes a 220 [Buffalo Bore ??] which has received great comments.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Thanks Mete
All I ordered were 200 gr bullets. For Bear, I need weight not velocity. I think for the distance, they will be just fine. Can't shoot until August and it's driving me crazy but it will be ready for bear season.

Posts: 4214 | Location: Southern Colorado | Registered: 09 October 2011Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of TCLouis
posted Hide Post
Standard load data is restricted by some of the older guns out there that may not be strong enough to survive modern pressures. Many times even the Contender can out perform rifles chambered for the 35 Remington because the allowable pressures are higher in the Contender.
I think you will be able to develop loads in the XP-100 action that will provide very good performance. Significant difference with loads with the attributes of the XP100's platform, but standard 35 Remington pressures are likely to stop a bear just fine. After all it has for years.

Please keep us posted with your results.