New
Find
Notify
Tools

What loads for elk
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Going on my first muzzleloader elk hunt in Colorado this fall. I have a Remington 700ML in .54 cal. Wondering what conicals, powder, and charges you guys would recommend. Thanks

Posts: 90 | Location: Mishawaka, In. | Registered: 22 August 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I've been using this rifle and caliber combination for nearly 20 years. After doing ALOT of load development for it, my "go to" load is 110 grains (by volume) of pyrodex "P" powder, RWS #11 caps, hot shot nipple, and Hornady 425 grain great plains bullets. Here in Idaho we have to use a full bore diameter bullet. If you don't, replace the bullet with a .452"/350 grain wide/flat nose hard cast bullet, in a red harvester high pressure sabot. It will shoot the length of an elk....the Hornady is soft and tends to flatten out, especially up close. Keep those in the ribs, and off the shoulder of a big bodied elk.

I have used this combination in some of the most horrible weather you could imagine. Put a little tape over the muzzle, and leave the gun in the cold at night, and you shouldn't have any problems with hang or misfires...we don't.

Me and 4 of my hunting buddies use this gun and load combination with great results. We've killed many whitetails, quite a few elk, and many mule deer with this load. Expect 2" groups at 100 yards, off the bench, on a calm day. My biggest bodied bull was killed at 135 yards with the Hornady bullet. Shot through the top of the heart, he took 3 or 4 steps backwards, stood for about 15 seconds, and tipped over. It's a hammer on game and pretty "lively" on the bench!

We all also use XS ghost rings sights. No scopes allowed here.

The RWS caps are by far the hottest caps I've found. They are also almost waterproof. I've put them in a cup of water, overnight, and 2 of the 3 popped, the next day.

Anyhow, thats what works for us, and it should work well for you too. Andy#3