New
Find
Notify
Tools

ALLIANT MZ BLACK
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Anyone using this stuff in a large bore (12GA or bigger) rifle or shotgun?

The MSDS reads like doublespeak - it's toxic as hell but it won't hurt ya. Opinions on breathing the smoke?

Thanks

Posts: 4828 | Location: IN YOUR POOL | Registered: 10 December 2015Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I use it. CVA .54" Mountain Rifle.

Posts: 1077 | Location: NT, Australia | Registered: 10 February 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by BenKK:
I use it. CVA .54" Mountain Rifle.

Are you compressing it as recommended? What size load? How smokey is it?

Posts: 4828 | Location: IN YOUR POOL | Registered: 10 December 2015Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I'm new to muzzleloaders, and only have experience with Alliant Black MZ. Can't get the real stuff where I live. Well, I'm working on that. Anyway, I like it. Don't know about compressing it. Just tap the ball down and make sure it can't go any further. I usually shoot 100 grains but a couple of times have shot 60 or 80. Have killed one pig, two buffalo, two scrub bulls and seven donkeys with it. Started on my muzzleloader journey about eight months ago.

Posts: 1077 | Location: NT, Australia | Registered: 10 February 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
It makes a good cloud of smoke. I certainly lose sight of my prey for a few moments.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Ben:
I've been told once you get it seated, bounce the rod off the ball about 5-10" and that's just about the right amount of compaction. Some of the old timers here will no doubt chime in and either agree or disagree, I don't know my self other than this is what I've been told.

Good hunting to you, sent a pm last night too.
George

"Gun Control is NOT about Guns'
"It's about Control!!"
Join the NRA today!"

LM: NRA, DAV,

George L. Dwight

Posts: 5935 | Location: Pueblo, CO | Registered: 31 January 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us