Find
Notify
Tools

Cabela's rolling block rifle
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of the_captain
posted
Has anyone seen/handled/shot the rolling block muzzleloader that Cabela's is offering? I've been pondering this rifle for a few years now, but have never been able to see one in person - none of the stores I have visited ever has one on hand.

I like how it looks, and I really like the rolling block action in general. I think this is a great idea for a muzzleloader, but I'm a bit hesitant to drop $300 on one without knowing more first. Any info would be great.

==============================
"I'd love to be the one to disappoint you when I don't fall down" --Fred Durst

Posts: 759 | Location: St Cloud, MN | Registered: 17 January 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I had one a few years back, made by the Pedesoli company, this was before the 209 ignition system! This company does some very good work, inletting was the best I've seen on a production firearm! Mine had an octagon barrel and it was very accurate!
Things worked out good with it, my son wanted to get into black powder and I wanted an Encore!
We worked a deal and we're both happy with our BP rifles!

Chuck - Retired USAF- Life Member, NRA & NAHC

Posts: 454 | Location: Russell (way upstate), NY - USA | Registered: 11 July 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
The 1in24" Rate of twist tells me you must use sabot's or conicles , won't shoot round balls accurately , or light bullets , MHO , I have several Remington Rolling Blocks Cartridge .45/70 40/65 45/90 .43 all are deadly, two are gain twist The rest are 1in18" The .43 ? Not sure ? The faster the twist the larger the bullet must be to be accurate .That little rifle will kick your ass using heavy bullets .

Posts: 497 | Location: PA | Registered: 24 May 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
concho;