New
Find
Notify
Tools

Buffalo
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I'm very new to the game of shooting and hunting with a muzzleloader. Well, yesterday was a lucky day, and I was blessed with my first success - and meat. My lady and I walked into the bush early in the morning, and quietly and slowly stalked along with a good breeze in our faces. My first stalk got me in range of a nice cow, but I then noticed she had a calf, and so I backed away and left them to it none the wiser. At one stage the sun lit on something red moving through the grass toward us, and we ducked down, thinking it was a scrub bull. It turned-out to be a yearling buffalo covered in red mud, on his own - strangely - and too cute to shoot. He cut our wind and ran. A little later we disturbed a wild dog who'd been resting in some shady patch of pandanus by a spring, and he proved too skittish to present an opportunity. As the day heated and the swampy creek ended, we had about reached our turn-around point, three kilometres from the Toyota. And then I noticed that slight patch of buffalo hide gleaming in the distance, immediately swallowed-up by the scrub. One last try. Off we went, and soon realised it was a young bull worth a good try. The wind was good, but the terrain was fairly open, with the bull commencing his midday rest in a patch of shade on the edge of the burned-out country. There was just enough cover to get close enough for a stalk, and at that point I kicked my sandals off and dropped my pack, hat and binocular, leaving it all with Meg. I had two rifles to stalk with: The CVA Mountain Rifle, .54", and the heavy double - in case something went wrong for either me or the bull. Sneaking through the grass I got to about forty-five metres or so. It turned out to be a pair of young bulls. Eventually they noticed my presence, but couldn't figure me out. The larger of the two stood to face me, and he was the one I wanted. I prepared for a shot, but he didn't present. Much of him was hidden by