Find
Notify
Tools

Bismuth???
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of arkypete
posted
It's my understanding that the new military ammo has switched out lead for bismuth.
Any one know if bismuth can be swaged?
How about using it with current bullet molds?

Jim

"Whensoever the General Government assumes undelegated powers, its acts are unauthoritative, void, and of no force." --Thomas Jefferson

Posts: 6173 | Location: Richmond, Virginia | Registered: 17 September 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by arkypete:
It's my understanding that the new military ammo has switched out lead for bismuth.
Any one know if bismuth can be swaged?
How about using it with current bullet molds?

Jim

I'm not an expert but using bismuth in current bullet molds would probably not work well since it gets LARGER when it goes from liquid to solid states.

I know the military is experimenting with it but I don't see how it's going to work too well. It is brittle and approximately 15% lighter than lead, not to mention there is a relatively limited worldwide supply and it costs substantially more than lead.

I don't have a clue about swaging.

xxxxxxxxxx
When considering US based operations of guides/outfitters, check and see if they are NRA members. If not, why support someone who doesn't support us? Consider spending your money elsewhere.

NEVER, EVER book a hunt with BLAIR WORLDWIDE HUNTING or JEFF BLAIR.

I have come to understand that in hunting, the goal is not the goal but the process.

Posts: 17099 | Location: Texas USA | Registered: 07 May 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of arkypete
posted Hide Post
Ammunition plant goes green

By Brian Burnes - The Kansas City Star
Posted : Friday Nov 7, 2008 6:24:29 EST

INDEPENDENCE, Mo. — On a recent day in Independence, a below-the-radar event occurred that figures to affect the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan.