Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

just starting to swedge, using LEE press
 Login/Join

posted
I am using a one year old LEE classic cast single stage reloading press. I am using a CH die to swedge a fully annealed 9mm luger case with a .356 125 gr. Lead core pressed into it. to get a 190 gr. .400 HP for 40 S&W.

I've read in some other posts here that LEE is a poor choice of a swedging press, it seems well built, granted there are no roller bearings in the linkage pins.

I plan on using only pure Lead cores, but I did do a little experimenting with W/W Lead cores just to see...they seemed to swedge just fine, though it did take more effort from the operator.

I have been Handloading Ammo for about 7 years, But as a newbie here as well as to swedging, please feel free to comment.

JonB_in_Glencoe

Posts: 21 | Location: Southern Minnesota | Registered: 25 February 2010Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
I figured out the photo thing here, I swedged these after an hour of playing around with the die for the first time.

JonB_in_Glencoe

Posts: 21 | Location: Southern Minnesota | Registered: 25 February 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Looks very good to me tu2

There is a fellow over on the Castboolits forum that is making these same bullets.
You might want to give him a yell. He even has a video of him making them.

Now if some one will just make some .416 300 grain we might get some more interest over here.

Cheers,
John coffee

Give me COFFEE and nobody gets hurt

Posts: 1608 | Location: San Antonio, Texas | Registered: 04 January 2010Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Phatman,
yeah he is re-selling the CH dies with added parts he manufactures himself. He (BT_sniper) is my source, I bought this die setup from him and am ordering a 429 setup too. He and I are also in the middle of some modifications to the Ram from my LEE press...improvements plus a automatic bullet eject.
Jon

JonB_in_Glencoe

One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post