New
Find
Notify
Tools

making brass
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
maybe this has been answered before, but I am just wondering how tough it is to makes ones own rifle brass, say a 30-06 case or something like that.

one of us
posted Hide Post
I make brass for a living. I dont own the company but im the only one that know how to make it. What can I do for ya.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by moonova:
I make brass for a living. I dont own the company but im the only one that know how to make it. What can I do for ya.

well, how is it made. what does one need to make it.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I think that the cost of the equipment to make any type of brass case would be to costly to the average person.When you can buy brass cases for around 30-50 cents a piece why would you want to make it? Especally 30-06 cases.
MHO
Larry

Posts: 75 | Location: Ashdown, Ar | Registered: 13 December 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Hello;
Cartrige cases are made by a multiple punching and drawing process. I would think the cost of the tooling would put it beyond most peoples wallets.
Grizz

Indeed, no human being has yet lived under conditions which, considering the prevailing climates of the past, can be regarded as normal. John E Pfeiffer, The Emergence of Man

Those who can't skin, can hold a leg. Abraham Lincoln

Only one war at a time. Abe Again.

Posts: 4211 | Location: Alta. Canada | Registered: 06 November 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Hello;
I saw that Nicholas Cage movie, Warlord the other day. The opening scenes take you right through the production of a 7.62x39 round and its subsequent handling right up to the point where it schmucks some poor African kid in the forehead. obviously a bit melodramatic but you can see the case drawing sequences.
Grizz