Find
Notify
Tools

.228 Bullets
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Porkypine
posted
Please excuse a totally uninformed old man for a foolish question. I recently came into possession of a 228 Ackley Magnum rifle. It is an Ackley made rifle so I don't want to shoot it a lot, but I DO want to try it out.

I have some .227 Hornady 70 grain bullets but I don't think they will stand up to the speeds the 228 will generate. They are built primarily for the old 22 Highpower.

I want to know if it makes sense to swage a .243 bullet to .228, or bump a .224 bullet up to .228, or back up and buy the dies to make the bullet from scratch?

I've been reloading for 35 years, but never really looked at bullet swaging with any serious intent before.

Any advice will be appreciated.

Thanks.....

Beer is proof that God loves us, and wants us to be happy....Benjamin Franklin

Posts: 52 | Location: Northwest Colorado | Registered: 10 August 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post

Posts: 3034 | Location: Colorado | Registered: 01 July 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Porkypine
posted Hide Post
Thanks Antelope, I've looked at the Sellier & Bellot bullets, they are for 22 Highpower mostly (5.7 X 51 ?)... I couldn't find a source in the US for them. I appreciate you giving me the site, they are at least .228 bullets. I don't think they will stand up to the Ackley.

Old PO noted in his books that bullets for the Hi Power weren't adequate for hunting, but they may do for killing paper....

I'll probably order some and continue to look for a source of heavier built .228 bullets..

Thanks

Posts: 52 | Location: Northwest Colorado | Registered: 10 August 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Huvius
posted Hide Post
Why wouldn't a .227" bullet not stand up exactly?