Find
Notify
Tools

Swaging-should I invest?
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of James Kain
posted
In my thoughts with as much as I do shoot at times, it be leave it would be cheaper to invest in swaging equipment and make my own bullets. I am a disabled vet, so I have a bit of time to do such things.

Disabled Vet(non-combat) - US Army
NRA LIFE MEMBER
Hunter, trapper, machinest, gamer, angler, and all around do it your selfer.
Build my own CNC router from scratch. I installed the hight wrong. My hight moves but the rails blocks 3/4 of the hight.....

Posts: 934 | Location: North Anson Maine USA | Registered: 27 October 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Shoot what? Mr. Dave Corbin is the prolific writer in the field. He has a number of his writings posted on his web site(s) for study or download FREE (sans pictures)... corbins.com /swage.com. You can save some either squeezing bullets or casting. And many of the top flight match competitors make their own jacketed bullets. .224? 6mm? .30? You do have to shoot a bit to cover that investment, but if money is a problem, that is not a good sport to choose anyway.

"Rediscover Swaging #9" on swage.com etc. Dave has a brother Richard with a web site, rceco.com and the beginnings of his book. ch4d.com sells swage dies for pistol bullets. Sometimes you see them on ebay. Mr. Blackmon makes fine dies. No web site. The Nemmiis are a bit harder to find. Hollywood Engineering comes and goes.

Do your homework and you will answer your own question. It is fun if you enjoy hand work like reloading. It can be a bit of a savings. (Or a business. Takes a Fed license, class VI.) But you have to study and decide. Mr. Corbin also has a list of commercial bullet makers on his web site. You might find one in your area who would give you a tour and intro... luck.

One of Us
Picture of James Kain
posted Hide Post