Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Is there a market?
 Login/Join

posted
I'm thinking very seriously of getting a class 6 license, and producing some bullets for sale.

What bullets would you guys buy, and what would you pay for them? For, say, 100, or a 1,000?

My rough plan is swaging, so I can include full metal jackets.

"A bunch of us went down to Gettysburg.
Some of us didn't come back.
If you weren't there, you'll never understand." --Unknown Infantryman

Posts: 10 | Location: Seattle | Registered: 13 September 2008Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have been making my own 6mm and 308 bullets for several years. I use these to shoot score, and group, 100,200,300 yd. benchrest. I do not make any bullets to sell. I do not have the time to do so. Making quality jacketed bullets takes time and attention. From cutting cores, lubing them, forming them, then degreasing and seating them to degreasing jackets then lubing them, seating the cores and pointing up the bullets, many minutes tick off of the clock. When I was buying bullets, (2-3000 at a time) from a friend, I had no real respect for the amount of time and labor involved.
I'm not trying to discourage you. There is always a market for good bullets but, it does require a lot of time and labor. Rising copper and lead prices have not helped either. Buy good quality dies and presses. Cheapo equipment will wear out quickly and produce sub quality results. Good Luck in your venture.

Posts: 868 | Location: maryland | Registered: 25 July 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
It was my great good fortune to talk briefly with a customer of Dave Corbins who was close to retiring and said he was being frank with me.

Surprise. He said that Mr. Dave presents all the positives and makes it sound easy. It is a business. Recently someone remarked that many a "loved" hobby has been turned into a HATE by trying to make a business out of it. (And per small bus Ad', 8 out of 10 new businesses fail).