New
Find
Notify
Tools

This time of year Login/Join 
One of Us
Picture of richj
posted
A very good friend passed thanksgiving week in 2018. I was in Vegas visiting family at the time. His wife called me, she knew it was coming.

He was a Vietnam vet (medic) and hunter, bullseye shooter, Winchester collector. He worked for a gunsmith (Geo Beitzinger) for a few years. Printer by trade.

I met him when he was a range officer at our pistol club/range in NYC.

When I joined the club I went there on each day of the week for a few weeks. Ronny was range office on Wed. and Fri. I decided that was my nights. He could tell Vietnam stories and hunting stories all night long.

German with an Italian wife. She is a hoot also, We get together at least once a month.

We had a few guys in the club pass on. That is how I wound up with all this stuff to sell. I can't see it being tossed or sold out to a dealer for pennies on the dollar.

His buddies in his unit in Vietnam called him Tiny (6'5 by 6'5 when I met him).

One story has him stuck jumping out of a helicopter, rifle/sling stuck on the back of the co-pilots door. Helo is jumping off and they are yelling at him to get out.

Co-pilot gets the sling loss and Tiny falls upside down out the door into a tall bush.

Posts: 6385 | Location: NY, NY | Registered: 28 November 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Aspen Hill Adventures
posted Hide Post
Great memory of a lost friend.

~Ann

Posts: 19150 | Location: The LOST Nation | Registered: 27 March 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Rich, that is a great thing you are doing. it takes a lot of time and work to go through someone's gun stuff.
I have a best friend with even more stuff then I have. We tell each other they have to hang on long enough for the other to die first.
Nobody else is going to want to deal with selling all the things.

One of Us
Picture of Use Enough Gun
posted Hide Post
quote:
Nobody else is going to want to deal with selling all the things.