Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Rifle Photo Backgrounds Login/Join 
One of Us
posted
I didn't find the topic elsewhere, so starting a new one: To photograph a rifle/shotgun what background have you found that best shows the firearm? The variety of things I have tried either cause the gun to be washed-out looking, too dark or too much competition from the background to focus on the topic.

Posts: 1421 | Location: WA St, USA | Registered: 28 August 2016Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Ray,
I’m not a pro, just a hack. However IMHO, shooting pix is much like shooting rifles. There is a lot to be said for having an accurate rifle, good glass, familiarity with your fire arm and practice.
Exposure, aperture, shutter speed, light and the ability to do post photo processing of RAW images all go hand in hand. Many times I’ll take a dozen or so images using different exposures, apertures and magnifications. My workhorse lens has become the Canon EF 24-70 F2.8 L II.
I have upgraded my camera body to a Canon 7d MkII. It has a crop frame sensor, but one of the things I particularly like is that it has two discs. I set on to record JPEG images, the other RAW images. I’m not using lightroom, but Canon Digital Professional.
You don’t state whether you are taking pictures of specific portions of a rifle or the whole item.
Here are some different shots…..

Animal skins and fur make good backgrounds

Tapestries work

Contrast is good.

Natural settings I like

depth of field and magnification can make a big difference as to where the eye is drawn......

flash can be interesting.

To me the thing is to be creative, shoot lots and lots of shots changing different modes, speeds apertures, and most of all, have fun.

ya!

GWB

Posts: 23752 | Location: Pearland, Tx,, USA | Registered: 10 September 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of richj
posted Hide Post
I don't like to use red or blue or black because the rifle is usually red,blue and black.