New
Find
Notify
Tools

Don't Sleep in the Stand!
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
If this thread is inappropriate for the Topic "American Big Game Hunting, perhaps the "Mod" will place it properly.

Anywho, as many folk know, in Texas local custom is to hunt from either ground blinds or elevated box blinds or "stands".

Here is a true story about "Sleeping in the Stand!

I've been hunting with a core group of guys for 21 years now. We were once young and studly. Now, the older we get, the better we wuz.

For the most part we all enjoy consuming adult beverages, but one of our group is a true beer drinker.

An example: a couple years ago Richard (names may have been changed to protect the guilty) had to go see his GP in order to have a physical check-up. During the check-up the lady Doctor asked Richard if he drank alcohol.

He replied, I like beer.

She then asks, if he consumes alcohol daily.

He said, Yes Ma’am.

She asks, how many beers a day do you consume.

Richard replies, “two”.

She says, ok you drink two beers every day?

Richard sez’ no, after work I drink two six packs.

Taken aback she asks do you do this daily?

Richard replies, “yes”.

She then askes, what do you do on the weekend?

Richard replies, I have two on Saturday and Sunday.

She inquires, two beers or two six-packs.

Richard replies, no, two cases, one case on Saturday and one case on Sunday!

Perhaps you get the picture.

Anywho, opening weekend of Rifle Season is always on a Saturday in Texas. Some get to the lease on Thursday, the rest on Friday.

The event that I am about to relate occurred opening morning of 2019.

However, a little more preface.