New
Find
Notify
Tools

Swing mount issue? Merkel 96k
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Picked up my second hand Merkel 96k in 20/76 and 7x57R today. I am very, very happy! It is my first drilling, and I have been wanting one for twenty years. I've had a combo for a while in the same calibers, but a drilling is something special.

The gun has a Swaro. Z6i mounted in swing mounts, a system with which I have zero experience. I am wondering if he following is normal and as it should be: After entering the front mount and swinging it back, there is a small gap between the gun base and the scope mount of 2-3mm. I have to apply quite a bit of force to allow the rear tap to lock into place.Is there a danger that this applied force creates damaging tension to the scope, or does it just help ensure repeatability in the mounting?

Posts: 116 | Location: Norway | Registered: 03 April 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I may be wrong, but properly mounted, the rear scope mount should be on plane with the rear mount once the scope is swung into position. You shouldn't have to put that much pressure on the scope to get it into position. I have one which I have to lift slightly but it is a very easy adjustment. Doesn't sound right to me...but I will bow to the greater experience of our Euro-members.

Posts: 1312 | Location: MN and ND | Registered: 11 June 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
That doesn't sound right. Usually with swing mounts you have to lift ever so slightly as the rear swings into position in my experience with four over the years.

How does it shoot? Is it sighted in?

Posts: 1765 | Location: Northern Nevada | Registered: 27 February 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
It is not sighted in, and I have not had the opportunity to do proper accuracy testing yet.

I see now that there are two screws on the front mount that regulate the angle of the scope. Should be an easy fix, therefore.

One of Us
Picture of Akshooter