New
Find
Notify
Tools

1889 SXS
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I was just given a Remington SXS 1889 with Damascus barrels and circular hammers. I don't know much about these but I would like to clean it up and see that damascus barrel!
However, it does not have any firing pins. Is it possible to find these and put them in?
It may need another screw or such. It has been used but not abused.
thanks,
Del

Posts: 45 | Location: Oregon | Registered: 08 October 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Kyler Hamann
posted Hide Post
I'm no expert on them, but I have a couple and the one my grandfather used to hunt with is my regular bird gun.

There were lots of different grades, but not all of them had damascus barrels.

Mine is super ugly (on purpose), but I sent it to Briley and they looked over the barrels, polished out any pitting, opened up the chokes, tightened the action and told me it was plenty safe with regular modern loads.

They told me that mine had "fluid steel" barrels and not damascus - therefore it could handle the modern ammo.

I wanted the outside of the gun to remain in rough condition like my grandfather used it, but Briley sure did a great job of making sure it was safe and solid. I'd highly recommend them to check yours out.

As far as I can tell parts are super tough to find. Briley had to make a top latch spring for mine. You might locate someone parting out a gun, but I don't know if there are many places to buy parts. At least I haven't found them.

About a year ago I broke a firing pin and searched high and low to replace it with no luck. My brother happens to be a prototype machinist so he didn't think they were any trick to machine. He had to get some steel he didn't normally work with, but I believe he saved the program in case I ever needed more.

Do you want me to check with him and see what he would charge to make a couple more? Since the new firing pin I've used mine on several hunts and a bit of practice and it's held up just fine.